The Yeosu Declaration

Here we introduce the Yeosu Declaration which represents the legacy of Yeosu Expo. The Yeosu Declaration calls for cooperation among the international community in marine environment conservation efforts worldwide.
  • Overview
  • Yeosu Declaration
  • Major Contents and Keywords
  • Progress to date
  • Progress to date


  • Expectations and Measures to Translate the Spirit of the Yeosu Declaration into Concrete Action


  • Sunday, August 12, 2012
  • 3:00 – 5:30 p.m. (150 minutes)


  • Expo Hall (with 1,000 seats and VIP room), International Pavilion Block C, Expo Site


  • Stressing the significance of the Yeosu Declaration and identifying its practical applications going forward after the event

Hosted by

  • The Organizing Committee for EXPO 2012 Yeosu Korea / Bureau of International Expositions (BIE)


  • Korea Institute of Ocean Science & Technology (KIOST)

Sponsored by

  • Ministry of Land, Transport and Maritime Affairs (MLTM) and Yeosu City

Expected Attendees

  • About 700 people concerned

Major Celebrities

  • Opening Address: Kang Dong-suk, Chairman, The Organizing Committee for Expo 2012 Yeosu Korea  
  • Welcoming Address 1: H.E. Kim Hwang-sik, Prime Minister, Republic of Korea 
  • Welcoming Address 2: Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales, Secretary General, Bureau International des Expositions (BIE)  
  • Congratulatory Remarks: H.E. Ban Ki-moon, Secretary General, United Nations  
  • Moderator and Panelists: Six from out of Korea and one from Korea
  • Moderator and Panelists:

    Moderator : Carl-ChristianSchmidt, Division Head,Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development(OECD)

    H.E. Willy Telavi, Prime Minister, Tuvalu

    Irina Bokova, Director General, United Nations Educational,Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

    Amina Mohamed, Deputy Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

    José Graziano da Silva, Director General, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

    Jung-Keuk Kang, President, Korea Institute of Ocean Science & Technology (KIOST)

    Koji Sekimizu, Secretary-General, International MaritimeOrganization (IMO)

    Biliana Cicin-Sain, President, Global Ocean Forum (GOF)

  • Yeosu Declaration Read by: Prime Minister Willy Telavi
  • 54 Korean and overseas members of the Drafting and Reviewing Committees of the Yeosu Declaration, Commissioners of Section